Author Topic: Schools deny girls cervical cancer jabs on religious grounds  (Read 3898 times)

Offline DrFishcake

• The Beast
  • A vegetarian called Fishcake. Long story.
Schoolgirls are being denied a potentially life-saving cervical cancer jab at their schools on religious grounds.

Some schools in England have opted out of the HPV vaccination programme because their pupils follow strict Christian principles and do not have sex outside marriage.

www.guardian.co.uk/society/2012/jul/18/cervical-cancer-vaccine-schoolgirls-religion?cat=society&type=article

It gets better.

"pupils follow strict Christian principles, marry within their own community and do not practise sex outside marriage"

Erm, can you say cult?

Offline Vypernight

• The Beast
  • Stubborn, pig-headed skeptic
Re: Schools deny girls cervical cancer jabs on religious grounds
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2012, 05:33:19 am »
I'm not a health expert, but since when did sex cause cancer?
Whenever I hear a politician speaking strongly for or against abortion, all I hear is, "I have no idea how to fix the economy!"

QueenofHearts

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2012, 05:44:21 am »

Human Papillomavirus is an STD which has been linked to cervical cancer. Its also very common affecting close to 80% of sexually active people. Leave it to the church to miss the point.

Offline armandtanzarian

• God
  • Sad tropical monkey
    • My band's music
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2012, 11:40:07 am »
There's also a massive conspiracy that HPV vaccine = encourage girls to be whores. See: Some controversy about Rick Perry early in the primaries.

Offline IanC

• Pope
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2012, 12:35:29 pm »
No doubt Michael Gove, our useless Schools Minister, approves of this. After all he did approve a bunch of creationist "free" schools recently. Urgh.

Offline gyeonghwa

• Uppity and Proud of It
  • The Beast
  • That angry queer your tone trolls warned you about
    • Queer & Khmer
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2012, 02:45:16 pm »