Author Topic: A Question About Computer Games With Very Grim Endings.  (Read 5915 times)

Offline Barbarella

• The Beast
  • A Little REY of Sunshine!
A Question About Computer Games With Very Grim Endings.
« on: August 30, 2013, 07:43:38 pm »
I'm not a gamer & I don't play video games. That said, as I regularly surf the net, I sometimes read about different games. I noticed that some tend to have sad endings where you don't really accomplish much no matter what you do. Case in point, stuff like Red Dead Redemption. Call me a stupid old-timer & a total noob but I assumed that these were games....something that's possible to beat or win if you play it right.

I don't deny that many of these games are stories in themselves with a full plot, message, storytelling & such but still, being a game, there should be an ability to "win" it somehow, otherwise it seemed "fixed". It makes no sense to me.

It seems these games are played out like set movies with a predetermined ending, rather than something where the ending is determined like game play. It's like being a pro-wrestler rather than a real athlete playing a real sport.

Can anybody explain this to me? I don't get it. I guess I have a very old-fashioned concept of what a video game is.

Offline Sleepy

• Fuck Yes Sunshine In a Bag
  • The Beast
  • Danger zone
Re: A Question About Computer Games With Very Grim Endings.
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2013, 07:52:17 pm »
If the game only allows you to win (giving you a happy ending), that's also "fixed", by that logic. In most games, winning is the only option (or just never completing the game, I guess). In games with karma or another similar system, you have a good amount of freedom and are sometimes able to "lose", depending on the game and its story. But it really depends on your definition of "win."

(click to show/hide)