Author Topic: My official statement  (Read 18063 times)

Offline ironbite

• Overlord of all that is good in Iacon City
  • Kakarot
  • Stuck in the middle with you.
Re: My official statement
« Reply #30 on: February 08, 2012, 06:26:47 pm »
My purpose is two-item:

1. To consult, provide guidance to the existing administration/moderation - I have extensive experience in both informal and formal situations and have experience in policy writing.

2. (as mentioned) To enforce

You also need to know the community you're working in. I don't want to think you're stupid, but shutting down debate is the worst possible thing you can do in this community. We are, at our core, a community of rational people--some more so than others at times, obviously.

But not letting people talk through problems will only create more of them.

The mods are not shutting down debate here, they're closing threads that have no purpose but to stoke the drama that happened over the weekend. I would like to think we could all stop being at each other's throats now.

Yes, because saying "any new threads to continue this discussion will be locked" is totally not shutting down debate.

There wasn't exactly any debating going on. The Vene thread descended into cute pictures. The ragequit thread was nothing but ironbite trying to get banned. I don't think I need to explain how a thread titled "You are all idiots" is not debate and straight up ad hominem. And the abandon ship thread just turned into a group hug. By all means, if you want to continue to bicker about who was to blame for what and continue to tear the board apart, start a new thread. The rest of us want to attempt to put this behind us.

If I was trying to get banned you'd know it new bestest friend in the whole wide world.  Mostly by doing the most offensive flames I can think of.

Ironbite-that was me venting

Offline GLaDOS

• Genetic Lifeform and Disk Operating System
  • Bishop
« Reply #31 on: February 08, 2012, 06:32:00 pm »